Skip to content

Bulk Cooking: Save Time and Money!

February 27, 2010

I really want to start trying out OAMC, or Once a Month Cooking. Maybe not cooking 30 meals in one day {that seems like a little much}, but I would like to cook up a good amount of meals , so that I have some go to meals that I know I can throw in the oven and I am good to go! Without having to use something that is not so healthy or cost effective for my family!! Money Saving Mom, is doing a series on it right now, and since I am really trying to get started with doing this, I thought it was perfect timing!

Some tips to get started…

  1. Pick your recipes {I am going to work with 5}
  2. Write your grocery list {for like items, just make a tally so you know how many to buy}
  3. Search through your stockpile first, before the store. {this might influence your #1 and #2 so maybe do this first. I plan on looking at items everyone has been able to get cheap/free lately and use them first.
  4. Look at how you will store these items. If the meal is casserole like, it would be good to put it in a dish with lid. If it’s “meal parts” {ex. mashed potatoes and pork} could be stored in freezer bags. Make sure you have enough of whichever you are using.
  5. Plan your prep {prep all alike ingredients}, the order in which to cook, and then assemble.

So, interested in starting with me? Let me know in the comments, and if there is enough interest I will work up 5 meals we can bulk cook. With recipes, ingredients list, and steps to prepare, and next Saturday I will share them all with you. I think these 5 meals I will make double batches {so a total of 10 meals} Lets start there, and see how that goes….

Any tips, suggestions, comments?

I understand that this is not the first thing one would do on the road to living thrifty, first one would shop deals, start a stockpile, and then do this. And I have not covered in detail, how to do the first two {plan on it!} but this is calling me, so please feel free to ask any questions about ANYTHING if you would like! I will answer as best I can!

{A big Thanks to Money Saving Mom and Life as a Mom! They are the experts on this,  feel free to browse their sites!}

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    March 2, 2010 1:08 am

    I love big batch cooking! My only problem right now is i have NO storage space for that much food. But would love to have some recipes that could be batch made. Hope this helps in your decision.

  2. March 2, 2010 12:21 pm

    I LOVE OAMC!! I would not be able to function without it! I work full time and it is so worth the one full day of hard work to reap the benefits from having dinner already made for 30 days. I highly recommend trying it. My favorite site is http://www.onceamonthmom.com

  3. September 8, 2011 11:06 am

    I generally cook in bulk. Working full time, I don’t have the time to prepare meals, so I cook in bulk and just heat up my main meal. Not only do I save time, but also money!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

